Nominate for Young EDGE Award 2011

We request you to give your nomination for Young EDGE Award 2011.
You can fill it up and email to us on ( or else take a print out, fill it up and fax us on (+91-80-4113 1914).
EDGE Education Personality of the Year Award
EDGE with the objective of recognizing the contribution of individuals to the education sector conceptualized 2 Awards namely; EDGE Education Personality of the Year Award and Young EDGE Award.

EDGE Education Personality of the Year Award, conceptualised in the year 2008, is conferred upon stalwarts who have significantly contributed to the development of higher education sector. India is currently witnessing the emergence of young leaders in the education sector.

While several awards have been constituted for young teachers, scientists, artists, technologists, entrepreneurs, managers or social reformers there is no adequate recognition given to young professionals in higher education.

Therefore Young EDGE Award was constituted in the year 2009 with the notion of recognizing the emerging young leaders in education who have made significant impact in the higher education sector.
EDGE Education Personality of the Year Award Recipients
Year 2010
Prof. Yash Pal, Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru University
In recognition of his lifetime of achievements in the area of education, discovery and outreach. He is one of the champion faces of the movement to reform higher education in India.…(click to read more)
Year 2009
Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, Government of India.
In recognition for his vision in giving education the top most priority in the 11th Five Year Plan.…(click to read more)
Year 2008
Dr. Sam Pitroda, Chairman, National Knowledge Commission (NKC)
As the Chairman of National Knowledge Commission he has been addressing the fundamental issues pertaining to education…..Under his Chairmanship, the National Knowledge Commission has successfully proposed about 160 concrete action plans.…(click to read more)
Young EDGE Award Recipients
Year 2010
Mr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder KIIT University and Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences.
This battle against all adversities he fought gave him a vision and mission of his life to deliver education to those least served. He made a modest beginning by establishing an ITI and transformed it into a full fledged University, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology, within a very short time….( Click to read more)
Year 2009
Dr. Vidya Yeravdekar, Principal Director, Symbiosis Society.
Dr. Vidya has represented India in many international education events and can be truly described as the young face of Indian Higher Education.…( Click to read more)

Young EDGE Award - Seach Committee for 2010

  • Dr. Ranjan Pai, MD and CEO Manipal Education and Medical Group, Bangalore (Chair)
  • Prof Srikanth Sastry, Bhatnagar Awardee 2008, JNCASR, Bangalore
  • Dr. Vidya Yeravdekar, Principal Director, Symbiosis Society.
  • Dr. Rajendra Jagdale, Director, Science and Technology Park, University of Pune (Convener)
Felicitation of Padma Awardees

EDGE has the tradition of recognizing the recipients of Padma Awards for their contribution to Education, Science and Research. Over the past three years the following were the Padma Awardees who were a part of Awards Function at EDGE Conference.
2010 Padma Awardees

  • Fr. Romuald D'Souza, Vice President, Marian Institute of Health Sector Management, Goa
  • Prof. Bipan Chandra, Chairman, National Book Trust, New Delhi
  • Shri. Gian Prakash Chopra, President, DAV College Managing Committee, New Delhi

2009 Padma Awardees

  • Dr. Ranbir Chander Sobti, Vice Chancellor, Panjab University, Chandigarh,
  • Dr. Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Chairperson , Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations, New Delhi
  • Prof. Sarvagya Singh Katiyar, Formerly President, AIU and Vice-Chancellor, Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University

2008 Padma Awardees

  • Prof. T.K.Oommen, Chairman, Schumacher Centre for Development, New Delhi
  • Dr. Amit Mitra, Secretary General, FICCI, New Delhi
  • Dr. Bina Agarwal, Professor of Economics, Institute of Economic Growth, University of Delhi
  • Sri Surjya Kanta Hazarika, Chairman & Managing Trustee of S.H. Educational Trust, Guwahati
  • Prof. Asis Dutta, Director, National Centre for Plant Genome Research, New Delhi
  • Prof. Amitabh Mattoo, Vice –Chancellor, University of Jammu, Jammu (Tawi)
©MM ACTIV Designed by : SCI Knowledge Interlinks Best viewed on 1024 x 768